25 Rams Named to Spring 2012 MASCAC All-Academic Team

Sherren Doyle
Sherren Doyle

Buzzards Bay, Mass. — A total of 520 student-athletes, including 25 from Framingham State University, have been honored by the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) with selection to the league’s Spring 2012 All-Academic Team as announced by MASCAC Commissioner Angela Baumann.

Ice hockey leads the way with seven student-athletes honored, while women’s basketball, women’s lacrosse and softball each had five student-athletes named to the All-Academic team.  Baseball had two honorees while men’s basketball had one student-athlete named to the All-Academic team.

Honorees from ice hockey team include seniors Chris Giebe (Psychology), Charles Vaillancourt (History) and Jon Vaillancourt (History), sophomores Peter Baldwin (Business Administration), Herbert Kyles (Business Administration) and Jay Nicholls (Undeclared) and freshman Ryan McDonald (Business Administration).

Senior Emily Clark (Biology), juniors Michelle Hagerty (Elementary Education), Kia Minor (Elementary Education) and Madeleine Park (Communication Arts), and sophomore Kristen Hoffman (Business Administration) were named to the All-Academic team from the women’s basketball squad.  Juniors Heather Masse (Business Administration) and Chelsea Temple (Nutrition) and sophomores Lauren Kent (Elementary Education), Rebecca Rixon (English) and Kaity Rossi (Spanish) are the honorees from the 2012 women’s lacrosse squad

Honorees from the softball team include seniors Sherren Doyle (Business Administration) and Alysia Morrissette (Business Administration), juniors Taylor Ezold (Business Administration) and Yaya Faria (Psychology) and sophomore Molly McKinnon (Corporate Communications), while freshmen John Gill (Business Administration) and Chris Tobin (Undeclared) are the honorees from baseball and junior Tyrone Figueroa (Business Administration) was the lone representative from the men’s basketball team.

Student-athletes that compete in championship varsity sports offered by each of the eight MASCAC institutions during the course of the recently completed Spring 2012 academic semester and have achieved a minimum 3.20 cumulative or semester-based grade point average are eligible for selection to the MASCAC Spring All-Academic Team.  Additionally, student-athletes that completed in winter championship varsity sports who met the same academic criteria during the spring semester are also eligible for selection to the Spring All-Academic Team.

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation’s oldest Division III men’s and women’s playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom.  MASCAC member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University.  Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sport of men’s ice hockey.